Quartet No.1

Quartet No 1

The work has been driven by the musical score of Leoš Janáček’s String Quartet No. 1 and explores the strength and fragility of two women in isolation.

The music was inspired by Leo Tolstoy’s novella The Kreutzer Sonata – “I was imagining a poor woman, tormented and run down…” -Janáček

Quartet No.1 was shown at the Edinburgh Festival Fringe August 2016 as part of Dance Base’s Heads Up programme.

Creative Team:

Choreographer: Marc Brew
Music: Janácek String Quartet no. 1
Dancers: Hayley Earlam, Freya Jeffs
Producer: Susan Hay